Replacing 1 billion-user platforms

I don’t read Medium often, but I do let the service send me weekly emails with posts I might be interested in. For some reason, this week’s email included a Jason Calacanis post from April about funding a Facebook replacement:

LAUNCH is going to fund seven, purpose-driven teams that want to build a billion-user social network to replace Facebook.

This is the wrong idea. We do not need another social network with 1 billion users. Part of the problem is having so many users and so much power concentrated in one place. And setting out to achieve 1 billion users means it’s an ad-based platform that will inherently revisit many existing problems. (The rest of the goals in Jason’s post I can get behind, though.)

Micro.blog will never be that big. What we need instead of another huge social network is a bunch of smaller platforms that are built on blogs and the open web.

Manton Reece @manton