Tweet Library 2.5 and consolidation

There’s a new update to Tweet Library out today. Major additions include CSV file export to Dropbox and new URL schemes for starting a search, export, or publish. The URL schemes look like this:

twtlib://username/search?q=hello&collection=Favorites

twtlib://username/export?collection=Testing

twtlib://username/publish?collection=Testing

twtlib://username/storify?collection=Testing

There are a few other important bug fixes too, especially to importing the Tweets.zip archive from Twitter.

When I gave up on Twitter as a user, many people asked if I would abandon Tweet Library. I wasn’t sure at first, but the answer now is a clear “no”. In fact, since my last personal tweet in 2012, I’ve released new features and even redesigned the app for iOS 7.

But I do need to start consolidating my work on Tweet Library and Watermark, because the apps share so many concepts around archiving and search. To that end, this week I’m retiring tweetlibrary.com as a way to browse and publish collections. The site will now redirect to a special landing page on Watermark. Published collections from Tweet Library also go to a public page on Watermark.

It was a tough decision to change the tweetlibrary.com URLs, but maintaining separate web apps that are so similar made everything more complicated, holding back what I could build. Having a single web codebase (Watermark) will ultimately let me improve both Tweet Library and Watermark more quickly.

Manton Reece @manton