Better is the best marketing

“Gus Mueller”:gusmueller.com/blog/arch… in response to a post from Joel Spolsky:

"If no one is buying your app then you've either got a dud and you need to focus on something else, or you need to improve your app so it's worth paying for."

I hinted at this in “my last post about new Clipstart features”:www.manton.org/2009/08/c… When Clipstart 1.0 launched and sales were lower than I had secretly hoped, the feedback was still so encouraging that it was obvious I had to keep rolling out new versions. Release 1.1, a month later. Release 1.2, which is “shipping today”:www.riverfold.com/software/…

Some products are just easier to sell than others. For Wii Transfer, people enter “music wii mac” in Google and then a few minutes later they are clicking the Buy button on my web site. But with Clipstart, even though I believe it to be a superior product, it’s going to take work and marketing and word-of-mouth and demo coaxing and making it so good that you’d be nuts to shoot video and not have it installed.

Manton Reece @manton