Small icons

I mentioned on “Core Intuition”:www.coreint.org episode 11 that I’ve been having fun making small icons for my new app. Here are a few partial screenshots:

clipstart_icons.png

Some of these are just pixel-by-pixel drawings, with slight gradients in places. For other parts of the user interface I used vectors in Photoshop, which gives a nice anti-aliased look that is important for some types of shapes, but for really small icons and widgets it’s pretty satisfying to just poke at things “fat bits”:www.google.com/search style.

“Gus Mueller”:gusmueller.com/blog/ pointed out that I should be using PDFs or drawing them in code to be ready for resolution independence. He’s right of course. Maybe Apple will announce a device at Macworld that will make that task seem more practical.

Manton Reece @manton