Da Vinci book, companion, and short film

The Da Vinci Code appealed to me and many others because it successfully mixes pieces of both art history and code breaking. The book captures in fiction the same fascination I had first cracking open Applied Cryptography.

A few months ago “Damon”:www.damonclinkscales.com completed a “companion to the book and film”:www.davincicc.com/, containing images and links to concepts organized by chapter. It uses the VitalBook digital book format, and is viewable in the software I helped write, “VitalSource Bookshelf”:www.vitalsource.com/. I’m working on some fun new stuff for Bookshelf at the moment that uses web services and “SSE”:msdn.microsoft.com/xml/rss/s… something I hope to post more about in the future.

In other Da Vinci news, story artist and animator Jim Capobianco has completed animation on his short film “Leonardo”:leoanimation.blogspot.com/. I saw a preview of this at “2d Expo two years ago”:www.manton.org/2004/07/c… and I can’t wait to see the finished product. Even in storyboards and rough pencil animation it was great.

Manton Reece @manton