Me as an animator

Most people who know me know that I’m a big fan of animation. There’s a great potential in animation to create stories and characters that move the audience in ways that are impossible in live-action. Many considered it the art form of the 20th century, but in the aftermath of Saturday morning cartoons and outsourcing to cheap labour in Asia, it is rare that audiences get a glimpse of what animation can do.

In addition to being a fan, I’m also something of an animator by night, working on a short traditionally animated film. I’ve been working on it for about a year, a few hours a week, in the evenings when time permits. (Often, it hasn’t.)

Lately I’ve found myself talking about this more frequently, so it seems the right time to expand the coverage of this weblog to include some of the things I’m working on. Mainly as a chronicle that I can come back and read later.

Here’s a little sketch I made last night while doing thumbnails (a quick way to explore the key poses for a scene before animating). As I get further along with the film I will post some storyboards, production stills, and pencil tests.

Wheee!
Manton Reece @manton